Skip to content

Recipe Box – Chocolate Roll

January 23, 2012

Chocolate Roll

One of my resolutions this year is to make more recipes from my Mennonite Community Cookbook. I’ll admit that I had to tear myself away from the lovely photographs and extensive directions at Smitten Kitchen in order to accomplish this. So here goes my first attempt: The Chocolate Roll.

 

 

 

Ingredients
• 6 Tablespoons Cake Flour
• 6 Tablespoons Cocoa
• 1/2 Teaspoon Baking Powder
• 1/4 Teaspoon Salt
• 4 eggs
• 3/4 Cup Sugar
• 1 Teaspoon Vanilla
• 1 1/2 Cups Whipped Cream
• 1/2 Cup Raspberry Jam
• 1/4 Cup Powdered Sugar
• Wax Paper

Directions
• Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Mix together flour, cocoa, baking powder, and salt. Set aside.
• Separate the egg yolks from the egg whites. Egg whites into a medium bowl and egg yolks into a large bowl. Beat egg whites until they form stiff peaks. Beat egg yolks and slowly add in the sugar, and vanilla.
• Fold the egg whites into the egg yolk mixture. Then slowly sift and fold the dry ingredients in until mixed well*.
• Line a cookie sheet (one with edges) with wax paper and pour and spread the cake mixture.
• Bake for 10 minutes or until tester comes out clean. The middle should seem barely done**.
• Lay out a damp cloth and sprinkle with powdered sugar. Flip the cake onto the cloth and ever-so-gently roll the cake up. Let it sit for about 5 minutes rolled up.
• Unroll the cake and coat with a thin layer of the raspberry jam then a thick layer of whipped cream. Gently roll the cake again and enjoy within the next 48 hours.

*I never sift, I usually pretend like that is just an extra step inserted by sifter manufacturers. I don’t even own a sifter. But it is necessary for this recipe. So go out and buy a sifter or just use a fine strainer like I did, just don’t skip this step.

** The first time I made this I barely over baked it and it was awful, so bad that I had to smother it in extra whipped cream. So don’t try to run errands while this is in the oven, you’re gonna need to keep a close eye on it.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 26, 2012 2:41 pm

    Ha, I laughed out loud at your sifter comment. I only sift when absolutely necessary.

Leave a Reply

